Welcome to Adobe GoLive 6
Official News
New date for Marlow
City v Marlow: OFF
City v Marlow: Pitch Inspection
Match Preview: City v Marlow
Away Travel to Fleet
Robinson stars in City romp
Kempston v City: ON
Kempston pitch inspection
Match Preview: Kempston Rovers v City
Defensive woes still undermining City
Goalkeeper joins
Match Preview: Beaconsfield v Cambridge City
Williams loan deal extended
Squad News
New date for Hanwell

 Site Home 
News Section
New Ground
Official News
Dev. Team
Youth Teams
Ladies & Girls
Disability Teams
1st Team
 Match Reports 
 League Table 
 1st Team Profiles 
 & Goalscorers 
 City Gallery 1 
 Video Highlights 
 City Gallery 2 
Club Shop
 The City Store 
The Fans
Supporters' Trust
 City Travel
 The Club 
 Club History 
 Playing Record 
 Club Contacts 
Off The Field
Patrons Club

Official News

League AGM News
Posted by Andrew Dunn
Jun 17, 2017, 17:52

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

The Southern League AGM took place in Southampton today.

It was announced that the league will be rebranded under the name of The Evo-Stik League South, with the three individual divisions retitled Evo-Stik League South Premier, Evo-Stik South East and Evo-Stik South West. The league sponsorship deal with Evo-Stik is for two seasons.

City were confirmed in the Evo-Stik South East following their relegation from the Premier Division last term. With a new division, there will new grounds and new teams to face. So what do we know about the opponents that City will be facing?

Apart from City, the new teams in the league will be AFC Rushden & Diamonds who have transferred from the Northern Premier League, Division One South. Hartley Wintney arrive having been promoted from the Combined Counties League whilst Hayes & Yeading came down from the Premier Division with City. Moneyfields were promoted from the Wessex League and Thame United gained promotion from the Hellenic League.

Aside from Rushden & Diamonds, City will renew acquaintances with Arlesey and Bedford who they have faced at Premier Division level in recent seasons.

Kempston Rovers will be another local team along with AFC Dunstable. Barton Rovers, Egham and Marlow made it to the play-offs last term whilst there will be two clubs from Aylebsury with the aforementioned team as well as Aylesbury United. Making up the rest are Beaconsfield, Chalfont, Hanwell, Northwood, Uxbridge, Fleet and Ashford Town (Middx).

For those wondering where some of these teams are based, well Moneyfields is perhaps the most intriguing. It is the furthest south City will travel and is a suburb of Portsmouth. Hartley Wintney is a village in Hampshire. Hanwell is from the London borough of Ealing, whilst Thame is a town in Oxfordshire.

The season gets underway on Saturday 12 August.

© Copyright 2003-17 Cambridge City FC

Top of Page